Jos Buttler Rested As England Announce A 15-Member Squad For New Zealand Tests

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), on Tuesday, announced a 15-member squad to face New Zealand in the two-match Test series which is all set to take place from June 02. Notably, veteran English batsman, Jos Buttler has been rested for the Test series as part of the English rotation policy.

A couple of new faces, Ollie Robinson and James Bracey have been added to the 15-member squad after having shown brilliant performances in the English county this season. Both these players might earn a maiden England Test cap in the series against New Zealand as the English team hasn’t been reluctant in rotating its players.

England Cricket Team
England Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

ECB Announces A 15-Member Squad For The Two-Match Test Series Against New Zealand

Both Bracey and Robinson were a part of the English squad as reserve players during their tour of Sri Lanka and India. While England comfortably won in Sri Lanka, the India National Cricket Team beat them 3-1 in the four-match Test series to go into the final of the ICC World Test Championship. Joe Root has been named the captain of the side and he will once again be seen leading the English pack.

England. Image Credits: Twitter

Head coach Chris Silverwood said, ‘The summer of Test cricket will be fascinating. Playing the top two teams in the world, in New Zealand and India is the perfect preparation for us as we continue to improve and progress towards an Ashes series in Australia at the back end of the year.”

England Squad For New Zealand Tests: Joe Root, James Anderson, James Bracey, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Olly Stone, Mark Wood.

England To Take On New Zealand And India In Consecutive Test Series

The English Cricket Team will take on New Zealand in a two-match Test series. The first match of the series will be played from June 02 at the Lord’s Cricket Ground. The second Test will commence on June 10 at Edgbaston. After the Test series, the India National Cricket Team and New Zealand will take on each other in the ICC World Test Championship final from June 18- June 22 at the Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Kane Williamson and Virat Kohli
Kane Williamson and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Indian Test team will then stay back in England to prepare for a five-match Test series that will take place from August 04. Meanwhile, a second-string Indian side will fly to Sri Lanka to play a 3-match ODI and a three-match T20I series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :