Dennis Bergkamp and Frank Lamparenter Premier League Hall of Fame

Dennis Bergkamp and Frank Lampard the latest entries into Premier League Hall of Fame

Arsenal and Chelsea legends inducted

Ex-Arsenal forward Dennis Bergkamp and legendary Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard have become the latest additions to the Premier League Hall of Fame.

The pair, added this morning, join Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Roy Keane, and Eric Cantona as those so far inducted in 2021. Two further players from a 23-man shortlist will be added by 21st May 2021, meaning that a total of eight players will be inducted for this year.

The Flying Dutchman rightfully in:

Dennis Bergkamp is arguably the most skillful player to grace the Premier League. Originally a striker when signed from Inter Milan in 1995, he found himself playing slightly behind the striker at Arsenal, which allowed his supreme close control and brilliant quick thinking to shine through.

The Dutchman was highly regarded not so much for his quantity of goals and assists (181 goals and assists in 315 Premier League appearances) as he was for the quality of his strikes. Indeed, Bergkamp remains the only player in Premier League history to place first, second, and third in the Premier League goal of the month, doing so in August 1997.

Bergkamp also holds the award for best goal in the first 25 years of the Premier League, as voted for by fans. His 2002 pirouette around Newcastle defender Nikos Dabizas and calm finish into the bottom corner of the net is one of the best goals of all time, even if there remain questions as to whether he meant it.

Speaking to the Premier League, the Dutchman said:

“The Premier League most definitely made me a better player. From the moment I arrived in England I’ve embraced the English mentality and passion for football, it suited me and my style of play.

“Playing every game against good and tough opponents meant I improved all the time. I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.”


Frank Lampard preferred to Steven Gerrard:

It appears that the debate over whether Frank Lampard or Steven Gerrard was the better player has been settled by popular vote. Although the ex-Liverpool captain was a legend in his own right, his legacy was forever compared to Lampard’s, and it is a comparison that has found staunch defenders of each side.

For the Premier League hall of fame however, there was only ever going to be one winner. Still Chelsea’s top goalscorer, Lampard achieved a clean sweep of trophies during his time at Stamford Bridge, winning three Premier League titles, as well as a Champions League title and four FA cups.

In fact, it was only this season that Bruno Fernandes broke the record set by the English Midfielder for most goals in a season from midfield, scoring his 28th goal across all competitions in Manchester United’s 3-1 defeat to Liverpool.

The addition of these two worthy entrants means that just two spots are left up for grabs for this year, due to be announced by 21st May.

What is the Premier League Hall of Fame?

The Premier League Hall of Fame “recognises and honours former players who have an exceptional record of on-pitch success and have shown significant contribution to the League since its inception in 1992”.

In order to qualify,  players must have been retired by August 1, 2020. A further two players will join Henry, Cantona, Keane, Lampard, Bergkamp and Shearer in the Hall of Fame, which have been voted in by a combination of fans and the Premier League panel.

Read more:

Eric Cantona the latest induction into the Premier League Hall of Fame

Invincibles including Thierry Henry & Dennis Bergkamp join Spotify founder’s bid to buy Arsenal

Arsenal betting odds, next game:

Crystal Palace vs Arsenal odds: result, both teams to score, correct score & goalscorers

Crystal Palace vs Arsenal Result/Both teams score Yes No
Crystal Palace 9/1 17/2
Arsenal 12/5
Draw 9/2 11/1

Arsenal’s latest videos

Behind the scenes at Arsenal's 2021/22 away kit shoot | Return of the Cannon

Behind the scenes at Arsenal’s 2021/22 away kit shoot | Return of the Cannon

Head behind the scenes on the 2021/22 adidas x Arsenal away kit shoot. #arsenal…


HIGHLIGHTS | Arsenal vs Crystal Palace (9-0) | Montemurro signs off in style!

HIGHLIGHTS | Arsenal vs Crystal Palace (9-0) | Montemurro signs off in style!

Joe Montemurro’s final game as head coach will certainly go down as a memorable…


Premier League table

# Team MP D P
1 Manchester City FC 36 47 83
2 Manchester United FC 36 28 70
3 Leicester City FC 36 21 66
4 Chelsea FC 36 22 64
5 Liverpool FC 36 21 63
6 Tottenham Hotspur FC 36 22 59
7 West Ham United FC 36 10 59
8 Everton FC 36 3 56
9 Arsenal FC 36 12 55
10 Leeds United 36 4 53
11 Aston Villa FC 36 7 49
12 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC 36 -14 45
13 Crystal Palace FC 36 -21 44
14 Southampton FC 36 -16 43
15 Burnley FC 36 -18 39
16 Newcastle United FC 36 -19 39
17 Brighton & Hove Albion FC 36 -5 38
18 Fulham FC 36 -24 27
19 West Bromwich Albion 36 -37 26
20 Sheffield United FC 36 -43 20
Player Team Goals
Kane, Harry Tottenham Hotspur FC 22
Salah, Mohamed Liverpool FC 22
Fernandes, Bruno Manchester United FC 17
Son, Heung Min Tottenham Hotspur FC 17
Bamford, Patrick Leeds United 16
Calvert-Lewin, Dominic Everton FC 16
Vardy, Jamie Leicester City FC 13
Watkins, Ollie Aston Villa FC 13
Gundogan, Ilkay Manchester City FC 13
Lacazette, Alexandre Arsenal FC 13
Wilson, Callum Newcastle United FC 12
Ings, Danny Southampton FC 12
Wood, Chris Burnley FC 12
Iheanacho, Kelechi Leicester City FC 12
Rashford, Marcus Manchester United FC 11
Zaha, Wilfried Crystal Palace FC 11
Pereira, Matheus West Bromwich Albion 10
Sterling, Raheem Manchester City FC 10
Cavani, Edinson Manchester United FC 10
Aubameyang, Pierre-Emerick Arsenal FC 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :