Bhabanipur by-election result LIVE: Mamata leads by 2800 votes, show trends

mamata banerjee

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee leaves after voting in the by-election in Bhabanipur, her constituency, in Kolkata on September 30, 2021. (PTI Photo/Swapan Mahapatra)

Bhabanipur byelection results 2021 live: West Bengal chief minister is so far surging ahead in a bitterly contested battle for Bhabanipur constituency in Bengal. She is now ahead by 2,500 votes at the end of two rounds of EVM counting, as per media reports. The Election Commission is yet to show the trends on its website.

Bhabanipur in south Kolkata cast votes three days ago in a byelection. Trinamool Congress leader must win to continue as West Bengal’s chief minister.

Bhabanipur has twice elected Banerjee twice before: this time she is contesting against two BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal and the CPM’s Srijib Biswas. Banerjee, in West Bengal earlier this year, dropped Bhabanipur to contest from Nandigram in East Midnapore district, but lost to her former confidant-turned-BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari by 1,956 votes.

Jangipur and Samserganj seats in West Bengal’s Murshidabad district and Pipli in Odisha are counting votes for by-elections as well.

Follow our live coverage of the by-election results and other news here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :